Youamdumb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Topic #37 – I Get It, You Style Hair

Those that know me know that I have little use for hairstylists.  My predominant hairstyle for the last 17 years had been a shaved head and even when I’ve grown it out, it’s generally pretty short.  Even grown out to fuller lengths, my ethnicity requires that of a barber as opposed to a hairstylist.  Somehow, I have always been able to spot a hairstylist pretty easily.  “How is that?”, you might ask.  Simple:  the hairstylist is the girl in the room with the hair that most looks like it was NOT done by a professional hairstylist.

I don’t know what it is, but 8.5 times out of 10, hairstylists I meet have the most f**ked up hair on the planet.  Pink streaks, random polka dots, weird shapes – and that was just this one chick I met last week.  It’s ridiculous.  There is a reason none of your clients get styles similar to yours, and it’s not because “they’re just not daring enough”.  It’s because they’re not idiots.  How damn expensive are those mannequin heads that you practice on that you don’t try that wacky shit out on them?  I don’t know why you feel the need to make the top of your head look like a field of poppies, but it’s attracting absolutely no one except that emo kid in the corner who’d get it on with a carnival teddy bear if given the chance.  Now, I’m not so crotchety that I demand that you get a completely normal hairstyle.  There’s nothing wrong with taking some risks or looking towards the future, but when Delta accidentally tries to land a 747 on your head, you might want to rethink your wacky trip into uniqueness.  Do what you want, but if you think striping out your hair with colors used for Rose Bowl floats, YOU AM DUMB.

Tomorrow – the end of a full week of DUMB with our DUMMY OF THE WEEK

March 25, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I am so glad that I subscribed to this blog! I usually pick my hairdresser based on his/her own hair…the worse it is, the more I want them! They can hatchet themselves, but no one else.

    Comment by Maggie | March 26, 2010 | Reply

  2. My Mrs is a hairstylist but her own hair has had the same style for 10 years

    Comment by Hairdressing Books | April 3, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

