Youamdumb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Dummy Of The Week!

I couldn’t even get to the site to update this thing in the last couple days.  I’ve been a little busy with some things to say the least.  To say the most?  Well, I’m not trying to take up that much of your precious time.  Anyway, on to the Dummy Of The Week.  There’s no point in trying to be complicated here as this week’s dummy is a microcosm of a larger issue (aren’t they all?)  I’m not gay and I’m not homophobic.  Personally, I don’t care.  It’s like veganism to me: I’m not going to give up meat for an all veggie diet, but I don’t give a rat’s ass what you eat.  Just don’t try and convince me I’m wrong for liking steak and I keep letting you believe your tofu burger is as good as Father’s Office.

Meredith Baxter.  Do you know who she is?  Unless you’re my age and up or watch a lot of Nick At Nite you probably have no clue.  Which is exactly why the news of her coming out this past week doesn’t matter in the slightest.  Why is this on the front page of CNN?  Is this really news that is on the pulse of America?  Do we really need someone to speak up for all the latent lesbians that STILL feel unsure about coming out of the closet?  I’m pretty sure the shock of people we assumed to be straight coming out as gay ended in the 90’s.  Since then it’s been a string of people we knew were gay but for some reason ascribed our willingness to comment on the same plane as the “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” put out by the ingenious Bill Clinton.

Meredith Baxter’s last movie was The Onion Movie (that doesn’t even sound real) and the last time she was on a TV show for more than a guest spot was 2006.  Her coming out as gay right now is about as effective as me coming out as straight: No one is incredibly surprised and no one really gives a shit.  What I do find hilarious is that now that she’s come out, the picture on her Wikipedia page is now one of her at an AIDS benefit in 1990.  Was this up before she came out and does this mean that Wikipedia automatically links “gay actress” with “AIDS photo” for their site?  She could have avoided all of this by just posing for Playboy like every other over the hill, past-their-prime actress you almost forgot about.  Either way, I am probably stupid for even bringing it up, but Meredith Baxter, YOU AM DUMB.

December 11, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

